top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda McQ

The Climb

Updated: Jul 23, 2019

One thing I have found very helpful in strengthening myself and my body ever since I was hospitalized is songs and the lyrics and message. These songs have pushed me through the hardest times in my life and have become sort of like my life anthems. I would like to share the lyrics that empower me most.

The first song that I heard when I was a child from Disney channel's Hannah Montana and was very helpful in my recovery because it gave me hope.

“The struggles I'm facing

The chances I'm taking

Sometimes might knock me down but

No I'm not breaking”

“There's always gonna be another mountain

I'm always gonna wanna make it move

Always gonna be an uphill battle

Sometimes I'm gonna have to lose

Ain't about how fast I get there

Ain't about what's waiting on the other side

It's the climb”

These lyrics were a really powerful part of this song for me because it taught me not to give up when things get rough and that it's okay to feel discouraged and fall down. This song also taught me that when you fall you have to get back up.

I recently watched a movie called Walk, Ride, Rodeo. It was about this cowgirl who got into a car accident and was paralyzed from the waist down. She quickly realized that if she worked hard enough in her physiotherapy and didn't give up she would eventually be able to ride on horses again. This movie was based on a true story about Amberley Snyder. Now Amberley is a famous championship barrel racer (horseback rider). Amberley is just one of the amazing people that I look up to. She persevered, didn't settle for anything less than her goals nor lost sight and faith.

Stories like this make me confident that I can do anything I put my mind to.

Have you ever heard that saying “what doesn't kill you makes you stronger”? it's from one of my favorite songs by Kelly Clarkson. You know it's true, what doesn't kill you does make you stronger.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adulthood and chaos

Since I turned 19 on November first 2020 life has been a crazy rollercoaster ride. For people who may not know I have Crohn's Disease, inflammation of the digestive track causing severe abdominal pain

Acts of Kindness

Hello beautiful followers! I am so sorry that I've been keeping you all in the dark for so long. I have been taking a break from the influencer life while I focus on completing my high school diploma

Cheerleading 

Hi all. I recently moved and had to leave the cheerleading gym I was part of for a long time, called the Cheersport Sharks. It has been a tough adjustment for me. The gym was like a second home to me

bottom of page