top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda McQ

Cheerleading 

Hi all. I recently moved and had to leave the cheerleading gym I was part of for a long time, called the Cheersport Sharks. It has been a tough adjustment for me. The gym was like a second home to me and my friends and coaches there were (and always will be) my family. I am on a cheerleading team at a gym close to where I live now but it's very different. My new team doesn't go to as many competitions and that's why they don't practice and train as hard. I miss competitions and working my butt off in the gym every weekend. Since my life is busy now since I have moved I cant go to my new gym multiple times a week so I have to just do cardio and other exercises at my home when I have time. I will admit that working out at home makes it easier to fit into my schedule. Plus it's free and I don't have to pay for a gym membership🙂 the only thing I miss about working out at home is the sports specific training. For example, I can't tumble or really practice my jumps at home. On nice days in the summer I will practice tumbling and make jumps outside.



Okay so during the period when I was moving I was able to come to the conclusion that I am not always going to be able to do everything the same as other people. This goes for cheerleading and in general. I can tumble but I have a different way of doing it. I have come to this realization and now I'm able to be proud of what I do and what I accomplished. This is a unique way of doing this sport and I came up with a way to adapt it to my needs. I realized I was thinking about black and white and no grey area. So I fixed that and now I'm so much happier and I'm able to be confident in myself.



This is a big accomplishment for me to be able to realize this and make the accommodations I needed to be able to do this. Maybe it's a sign that I'm growing up

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adulthood and chaos

Since I turned 19 on November first 2020 life has been a crazy rollercoaster ride. For people who may not know I have Crohn's Disease, inflammation of the digestive track causing severe abdominal pain

Acts of Kindness

Hello beautiful followers! I am so sorry that I've been keeping you all in the dark for so long. I have been taking a break from the influencer life while I focus on completing my high school diploma

How to survive high school

This school year has been so busy going into my fifth year of high school. (I haven't been posting YouTube videos because I'm so busy😢) I have already learned so much more about myself this school ye

bottom of page