top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda McQ

Unshakeable

Updated: May 19, 2019

I have gone through a lot in my life, both good and bad, but each experience has taught me a very important lesson about myself. I have learned how resilient I am and that I can do anything if I put my mind to it and work hard enough. I am so grateful for the opportunities I have.

I am still in physiotherapy on a weekly basis. I have been ever since I had my brain tumour and stroke. I'm very thankful to be able to continue physiotherapy because it helps me get stronger and able to achieve my goals.

There is a quote that says, “Mirror mirror on the wall, I'll always get up after I fall. And whether I run, walk, or have to crawl, I’ll set my goals and achieve them all.”

This quote is true in everything that I do. Especially in cheerleading. I am a cheerleader - part of a special needs cheerleading team. I have been doing this for about five or six years now and I am absolutely in love with the sport. I definitely put my all into everything that I do in terms of cheerleading. Cheerleading is a lifestyle for me. The early morning Sunday practices, and the Tuesday and Wednesday late nights cheering on other teams make me who I am. When I cheerlead, my goal is always to defy the odds and have fun! What I mean when I say “defy the odds” is that I was in the hospital with a life-threatening brain tumour when I was just three years old. Fast forward 14 years since then….who would have thought that I would be a cheerleader.

I also have had the opportunity to share my story and be an inspiration to people around me. For example, I was an ambassador for the rehabilitation center I was living in after my surgery and I also got to speak in front of large audiences about all the services and help I have received over the years. I feel like I have taught my family and friends more about disabilities and how to treat people. I am probably the most kind and compassionate teenager you will ever come across. I learned at a very young age how to respect everyone. I was always told to treat people the way you want to be treated. I took those words to heart and made it my mission to treat everyone the way I want to be treated. Maybe that is because I wasn't always treated fairly as a child because of my disability, or maybe that is just simply my purpose in life - to go around spreading joy to everyone I meet.

Me after a cheerleading competition with my new national championship blanket

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adulthood and chaos

Since I turned 19 on November first 2020 life has been a crazy rollercoaster ride. For people who may not know I have Crohn's Disease, inflammation of the digestive track causing severe abdominal pain

Acts of Kindness

Hello beautiful followers! I am so sorry that I've been keeping you all in the dark for so long. I have been taking a break from the influencer life while I focus on completing my high school diploma

Cheerleading 

Hi all. I recently moved and had to leave the cheerleading gym I was part of for a long time, called the Cheersport Sharks. It has been a tough adjustment for me. The gym was like a second home to me

bottom of page