top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda McQ

The work is worth it

Updated: May 19, 2019

I was just shy of my fourth birthday when I was diagnosed with a brain tumour. Little did I know that that brain tumour was just the beginning.

I was blessed with a fantastic surgical team who were able to take the tumour out successfully.

Knowing me though, things never go as planned. So, during the operation to remove my brain tumour I had a blood vessel spasm which triggered a stroke. That stroke left me with permanent weakness on one side of my body. But I'm not telling you that to make you feel sorry for me; I'm telling you so you can start to understand my challenges and what I have been through.

After my brain tumour and stroke I spent six weeks in the hospital recovering and then I was transferred to a rehabilitation center where I had to re-train my body and brain how to stand, sit, eat, walk and talk. I even attended kindergarten at the rehabilitation center. In rehab I learned the definition of work and what it means to fight. I was in different types of therapy multiple times a day for six months. Yes, there were times I cried and wanted to give up. Those times, when I was too tired to keep going made me the resilient, determined and courageous person I am today.

Never give up on your dreams and goals

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adulthood and chaos

Since I turned 19 on November first 2020 life has been a crazy rollercoaster ride. For people who may not know I have Crohn's Disease, inflammation of the digestive track causing severe abdominal pain

Acts of Kindness

Hello beautiful followers! I am so sorry that I've been keeping you all in the dark for so long. I have been taking a break from the influencer life while I focus on completing my high school diploma

Cheerleading 

Hi all. I recently moved and had to leave the cheerleading gym I was part of for a long time, called the Cheersport Sharks. It has been a tough adjustment for me. The gym was like a second home to me

bottom of page