top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda McQ

Inaccessibility in the community

I try my best to conquer every challenge that stands in my way but i get extremely frustrated by things that are overlooked and are inaccessible in the community. For example going to a restaurant that has multiple floors and flights of stairs, going out somewhere and not having enough accessible parking spots or they're not close to the entrance, or not trying to be compassionate and considerate of people with disabilities and have respect for what they go through. In my specific case people don't understand that every single physical movement I do is ten times as hard for me as it is for others without a disability. So I can't do everything I want to because I know that if I do a certain activity I will have no energy left to use for that day. I only have a limited amount of energy and I have to be conservative of that. It frustrates me so much when people that do not have in accessibility parking permit park in accessibility parking spots! It is really disrespectful and rude to people who actually need those accessibility spots. When I go out with my friends it means so much to me when they are compassionate and patient with me. They understand I can't do everything or do it as fast as they can. Patience means so much to me. Another issue that I find frustrating is that people who are traveling on an airplane that are accompanying a person with a disability don't get a discount off airline tickets. Some people need a care worker even when they are traveling. I feel like having to pay full prise for a care worker to accompany a person with a disability who is going to be with that person throughout your whole trip is an infringement of liberty (S. 7 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms) Paying for an attendant to travel with you may very likely also cause undue hardship

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adulthood and chaos

Since I turned 19 on November first 2020 life has been a crazy rollercoaster ride. For people who may not know I have Crohn's Disease, inflammation of the digestive track causing severe abdominal pain

Acts of Kindness

Hello beautiful followers! I am so sorry that I've been keeping you all in the dark for so long. I have been taking a break from the influencer life while I focus on completing my high school diploma

Cheerleading 

Hi all. I recently moved and had to leave the cheerleading gym I was part of for a long time, called the Cheersport Sharks. It has been a tough adjustment for me. The gym was like a second home to me

bottom of page