top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda McQ

How to treat people with disabilities

Tips about the differently abled community 1. Don't treat them differently 2. Do not refer to them in the third person. Most people with disabilities can speak for themselves 3. Don't use the words "crippled" or "retarted" 4. Right now in society it is considered politically correct to not say or refer to a person as "a disabled person". This is thought to be rude because the person comes before the disability. Saying "a person with a disability" is respectful because it's not really about their disability, but them as a person. However, there is controversy about this subject. My preference is to be referred to as a person with a disability 5. We are trying to not use the word "disabled" anymore because it is outdated. Instead people should use the term "differently abled" 6. There is a mixture of feelings among the differently abled community as to the term "special needs". Every human being has basic needs and we are no different. I personally don't like being called out and labeled and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to this.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adulthood and chaos

Since I turned 19 on November first 2020 life has been a crazy rollercoaster ride. For people who may not know I have Crohn's Disease, inflammation of the digestive track causing severe abdominal pain

Acts of Kindness

Hello beautiful followers! I am so sorry that I've been keeping you all in the dark for so long. I have been taking a break from the influencer life while I focus on completing my high school diploma

Cheerleading 

Hi all. I recently moved and had to leave the cheerleading gym I was part of for a long time, called the Cheersport Sharks. It has been a tough adjustment for me. The gym was like a second home to me

bottom of page